The best laid plans…

So, I had grand plans for this week, this first week of unemployment, this week of the new year.  Write more, clean the house, spend more time with my cat, knit more things, write more.

Monday went off swimmingly. Four thousand words done on a rewrite of All I Ever Wanted, cleaned the bathroom, had dinner on the stove by the time Partner came home, brushed Cho until he was a purry pile of cat. 

Then the furnace broke overnight.  And we’re in Minnesota, where the temperature flirts and then goes down on 0 degrees F all week.  So, Tuesday, New Year’s Eve, is spent trying not to freeze while we wait on a repairperson.  Cold hands means no typing or knitting or even leaving my chair except to pee, make tea, or retrieve another blankie.

Furance is fixed by the afternoon, there is much rejoicing, but then we have a get-together to attend, where I devoured the yummiest prime rib in existence and we all play Cards Against Humanity until midnight.  And before we’re all old, everyone goes home after that.

New Year’s Day, a day of promise and new beginning – and my throat is on fire, my head is trying to come out of my ears and I’m both drowning in and choking on snot.  So, that day is spent sleeping.  With Cho. 

Today, I’m feverish, but lucid enough to get these words down. 

Well, that counts as progress to me 🙂

Posted on January 2, 2014, in Author-ly News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

