Everything’s coming up Nicole

At least, when it comes to all of the work involved with this here soon to be published book thing.

I have seen the first draft of the cover art.  I have a bio on Dreamspinner’s page.  I have galley proofs, and I’m so in love with them. I want to sing to them, I was to sit down and coo and make those stupid faces people do when they encounter a baby or a puppy or something.

I’m in love.  I’m proud.

I’m terrified.

I worry I will be the only person in the whole wide world who will love my baby as much as I do.  I worry about plotpoints and dialogue and name choices and tropes that will cause readers to run screaming from ever trying a work with my name on it again.

I worry about the sequel.  I worry it will never be as good as this story.  I worry because the plot bends and twist and refuses to sit still and stop changing already, damnit.  I worry there will not be a sequel.

I am ready, I suppose.  No writer getting ready for a publishing run is without being in love and scared at the same time.  It’s watching your baby take it’s first steps.  It’s amazing.

Posted on August 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

