Too Short! Why is it so short!

Insert”That’s what she said” here

So, there’s this submission call due at the first of June.  And for some insane reason, I decided to start on it a month and a half before the due date.

I just finished it today.  And it’s 10K words too short.  AND because it involves a romance between two asexual men, I can’t return to my old ways and try to crow bar in a sex scene or two.  AND I don’t even have a title yet.

Fuck me running backwards.

So, I’m going to be spending the rest of the week adding in 10K AND editing.  Damn, I need a beta reader for moments like these.

Though, I don’t feel that kind of negative pressure that I thought I’d feel when a deadline looms.  Maybe it’s because I’m a bright and shiny and new writer (okay, probably), but I’m looking forward to the challenge.  Do I add more conversations between Salvatore and Leo?  Do I let them endure more nonsense form the one dissenting friend that doesn’t understand how happy they are in a relationship sans sex?  How about extending the scene with Salvatore’s parents getting a handle on their son liking men in the first place?  The possibilities are endless!

Posted on May 12, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s a whole week later, and I’m curious to know how you solved the problem. What did you do?

    • I ended up doing a little bit of everything I suggested in my last paragraph and managed to eek it just past 25k. With editing and stuff, that number is only going to rise, so there’s my next hill to climb. 🙂

Leave a Reply

